Last Updated on September 2, 2010 by Steven Meurrens

People coming to Canada on a temporary basis are required to have medical examinations if:

  • They will be in Canada for less than six months and will be working in an occupation which the protection of public health is essential. Examples include caregivers, health practitioners, and teachers.
  • They will be staying in Canada for six months or more and have resided or stayed temporarily for six or more consecutive months in a designated country or territory in the one year immediately preceding the date for which they sought to enter Canada. This is the case even if that person is a citizen of a country that does not require a visa to enter Canada.

On September 1, 2010, Citizenship and Immigration Canada removed 45 countries from the designated country or territory list, and added four.  The countries removed include Iran, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, and Singapore.

The following countries/territories have been removed from the designated country/territory list:

  • Ascencion
  • Austral Islands
  • Azores
  • Bahamas
  • Balearic Islands
  • Bora Bora
  • Bulgaria
  • Canary Islands
  • Chagos Archipelago
  • Christmas Island
  • Croatia
  • Easter Island
  • Estonia
  • French Guiana
  • Gambier Islands
  • Huahine
  • Iran
  • Johnston Atoll
  • Kerguelen Islands
  • Loyalty Islands
  • Macedonia
  • Madeira
  • Makatea
  • Marquesas Islands
  • Maupiti
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Midway Island
  • Montenegro
  • New Caledonia
  • Northern Sinai
  • Oman
  • Raiatea
  • Reunion
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Society Archipelago
  • St. Helena
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tahaa
  • Tahiti
  • Tristan Da Cunha
  • Tuamotu Archipelago
  • Wake Island
  • West Bank and Gaza Strip

The following countries have been added to the list:

  • Greenland
  • Nauru
  • Tuvalu
  • Wallis Futuna

A designated country/territory is defined as a country/territory with a three year average estimated sputum smear positive pulmonary tuberculosis (TB) incidence rate equal to or greater than 15/100,000.  To be considered for removal from the designated country/territory list, a country or territory must remain below the average threshold for three consecutive years.